Page 1 of 1

Beacons - not getting the concept

Posted: Fri May 05, 2017 7:52 pm
by Visstar
I tried playing around with setting and traveling to beacons, and so far have not seen any use for them at all. When they work at all (most of the time the spell fizzles) the travel spell just takes you to the nearest beacon, even if it's just one square away! Or can you only have one beacon at a time? I don't really get the concept of this at all. I assumed when I cast Travel to Beacon, I would get a list of beacons I had set. Not so much.

Re: Beacons - not getting the concept

Posted: Fri May 05, 2017 8:21 pm
by icetear
One beacon per spellcaster allowed.
The proper travel spell will take you back to that beacon - it works not on all maps, indeed.
The concept is to auto-travel to certain destinations. E.g. I usually set a beacon to a place where I can rest my party - and another one to a grinding spot.

kind regards
Mario

Re: Beacons - not getting the concept

Posted: Fri May 05, 2017 9:11 pm
by Visstar
Thanks, that might be useful. I just need to remember that one mage is for battle, and her beacon goes to, say, the bonehouse, and the other mage is for healing (or whatever) and set his beacon on the riverbank near Watertop. Then if it works, it works, and if it doesn't, it fizzles. :|

Re: Beacons - not getting the concept

Posted: Fri May 05, 2017 9:14 pm
by icetear
If you think that some travelling route is bugged, leave me a message with the location of beacon + starting point. Then I can investigate the pathing.

BTW: touch the zone title (underneath the picture on the left hand side) and you will get a fast travel menu with your active beacons.

Re: Beacons - not getting the concept

Posted: Fri May 05, 2017 9:31 pm
by Visstar
Wow! I didn't know that was there. :oops:

Thanks!

Re: Beacons - not getting the concept

Posted: Sat May 30, 2020 8:58 am
by Roland of Yew
icetear wrote:
Fri May 05, 2017 9:14 pm
If you think that some travelling route is bugged, leave me a message with the location of beacon + starting point. Then I can investigate the pathing.

BTW: touch the zone title (underneath the picture on the left hand side) and you will get a fast travel menu with your active beacons.
If the spell ‘fizzles’ is that a bug? If so, all of Ridge Fault suffers from the ‘set beacon’ bug. 🥺

Re: Beacons - not getting the concept

Posted: Sat May 30, 2020 10:30 am
by icetear
Not a bug. Not all zones qualify for beacons.

Re: Beacons - not getting the concept

Posted: Sun May 31, 2020 5:51 am
by chrlpolk
I had assumed there was too much trouble transitioning in certain places that were not merely "step on next square to change map" situations, since that was usually where beacons stopped working for me.

Mostly, I kept one at the Guild Hall and one on Mountain Ridge at the entrance to Ridge Fault for grinding. When everyone was ready to level up, I'd leave Ridge Fault and return to the beacon at the Guild, level up, then have my other caster return us to the Ridge Fault entrance beacon.

I believe I attempted one at the magic-restoring fountain at Castle Cranbourgh and although it let me set the beacon, the pathfinding couldn't get to it from anywhere I tried returning to it from. Again, the assumption was that the pathfinding got hung up on requiring a "yes/no" input for the secret passage.